A frustrated customer of HP Pavilion 15 (Ubuntu) Notebook

Last month, I purchased HP Pavilion 15 series Notebook with Ubuntu pre-installed. I assumed that if HP is selling a notebook with Linux pre-installed, all the components should be Linux compatible. What a big mistake, I made!!

As soon as I reached home, I installed Ubuntu 13.04 without any thought. I noticed that wireless adapter was not detected at all. After few hours of googling, I found that my notebook is using Mediatek 7630 wireles adapter, for which there is no drivers are available. I was shocked!!

I tried to contact HP and they clearly said “HP does not provide support for Linux.” What a joke!! Then, why do you sell notebook Linux pre-installed? Let the customer identify about the Linux compatibility for each part himself. You could have mentioned about the drivers availability before selling. Dear HP, may be this fact can bring you in shock, but every user does not buy your laptop to install Windows at home.

I couldn’t understand one point. When you are delivering a notebook with wireless drivers available, means you have received that from vendor. Then, why cant you make them available to user? or you can also asked vendor to make drivers available on their site.

One more point, why did you choose such vendor, while a lot of better vendors are available? Did you get some bribe? Oh! you cant tell me your business strategy. This can be your excuse for now.

I thought may be vendor Mediatek can help me. Till now, I have dropped around 4-5 mails, but seems like they dont care at all. After all, I am not their’s customer. I am the customer of HP. Then how does I matter to Mediatek. Right Mediatek??  

Lesson Learned: May be, you have a lot of trust in any brand, they will not bother. They will take just few minutes to break you trust.

If anyone from HP or Mediatek is reading it, I know you wont bother a bit. So, you wasted a lot of time here. You could have made few more customers frustrated in this period. I am sorry for it.  

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment